Project Censored’s judges

The panel of judges for this year’s Project Censored included:

Robin Andersen, associate professor and chair, Department of Communication and Media Studies, Fordham University

Richard Barnet, author of 15 books and numerous articles for The New York Times Magazine, The Nation, and The Progressive

Liane Clorfene-Casten, co-founder and president of Chicago Media Watch, a volunteer watchdog group that monitors the media for bias, distortions and omissions.

Lenore Foerstel, Women for Mutual Security, facilitator of the Progressive International Media Exchange (PRIME)

George Gerbner, dean emeritus, Annenberg School of Communications, University of Pennsylvania.

Robert Hackett, professor, School of Communications, Simon Fraser University; director of News Watch Canada.

Carl Jensen, founder and former director of Project Censored; author of Censored: The News That Didn’t Make the News and Why (1990-1996) and 20 Years of Censored News (1997)

Sut Jhally, professor of communications and executive director of the Media Education Foundation, University of Massachusetts

Nicholas Johnson, professor, College of Law, University of Iowa; former FCC Commissioner (1966-1973); author of How to Talk Back to Your Television Set

Rhoda H. Karpatkin, president of Consumers Union, nonprofit publisher of Consumer Reports

Charles L. Klotzer, editor and publisher emeritus, St. Louis Journalism Review

Nancy Kranich, past president of the American Library Association (ALA)

Judith Krug, director of the Office for Intellectual Freedom, American Library Association (ALA)

Martin Lee, investigative journalist, media critic and author

William Lutz, professor of English, Rutgers University; former editor of The Quarterly Review of Doublespeak

Julianne Malveaux, economist and columnist, King Features and Pacifica Radio talk show host

Robert W. McChesney, research associate professor in the Institute of Communications Research and the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Cynthia McKinney, the first African-American woman from Georgia to serve in the United States House of Representatives, from 1992 to 2002

Mark Crispin Miller, professor of media Ecology, New York University; director of the Project on Media Ownership

Jack L. Nelson, professor, Graduate School of Education, Rutgers University

Michael Parenti, political analyst, lecturer, and author of several books on media

Dan Perkins, political cartoonist, pen name Tom Tomorrow, and creator of “This Modern World”

Barbara Seaman, lecturer; author of The Greatest Experiment Ever Performed on Women: Exploding the Estrogen Myth (Hyperion 2003) and other books; co-founder of the National Women’s Health Network

Erna Smith, professor of journalism, San Francisco State University

Norman Solomon, syndicated columnist on media and politics; coauthor of Target Iraq: What the News Media Didn’t Tell You (Context Books, 2003); executive director of the Institute for Public Accuracy

Sheila Rabb Weidenfeld, president of D.C. Productions, Ltd.; former press secretary to Betty Ford

Send comments to [email protected]

About The Author

Metro Times Staff

Since 1980, Metro Times has been Detroit’s premier alternative source for news, arts, culture, music, film, food, fashion and more from a liberal point of view.
Scroll to read more Metro Detroit News articles


Join Detroit Metro Times Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.