See our Best of Detroit 2020 winners.

2002 Detroit Music Award Winners 

On April 19, 2002, the alternately coveted and scorned Detroit Music Awards were handed out to a wide variety of local talent. For a full list of nominees and other information about the nomination procedure and this year's show, visit the Detroit Music Awards' own Web site.

And be sure to read Metro Times correspondent Chris Handyside's take on the high-falutin’ and lowbrow shenanigans at this year's Detroit Music Awards show.

Outstanding national album: The White Stripes, White Blood Cells

Outstanding national single: The White Stripes, ``Hotel Yorba''

Outstanding reissue: Marvin Gaye, What's Going On

Outstanding producer: Nolan Mendenhall

Outstanding studio: Tempermill

Outstanding record company: Harmonie Park

Outstanding live artist: Immunity

Outstanding sound technician: Neil T. Sever

Outstanding rock recording: The Trash Brats, American Disaster

Outstanding rock artist: The Trash Brats

Outstanding pop artist: Stewart Francke

Outstanding alternative artist: American Mars

Outstanding hard rock artist: Broadzilla

Outstanding industrial artist: Sweatysuedelips

Outstanding rock songwriter: Liz Larin

Outstanding rock vocalist: Liz Larin

Outstanding rock instrumentalist: Bobby East (guitar, The Reefermen)

Outstanding acoustic/folk recording: Jan Krist, Outpost of the Counter-Culture

Outstanding acoustic artist: Liz Larin

Outstanding folk artist: Sista Otis

Outstanding folk vocalist: Tim Diaz

Outstanding folk instrumentalist: Danny Cox

Outstanding folk songwriter: Steven Grant Wood

Outstanding blues recording: Thornetta Davis, Live at the Music Menu

Outstanding blues artist: Thornetta Davis

Outstanding blues vocalist: Thornetta Davis

Outstanding R&B artist: Bugs Beddow

Outstanding R&B instrumentalist: Chris Codish (The Brothers Groove)

Outstanding R&B songwriter: Robert Jones

Outstanding Country recording: The Wrenfields, 21st Century Pioneer

Outstanding country artist: The Wrenfields

Outstanding country vocalist: Noreen Novrocki (The Wrenfields)

Outstanding country instrumentalist: Tim Duvalier (Orbitsuns)

Outstanding country songwriter: Vinnie Dombroski (Orbitsuns)

Outstanding hip-hop recording: Paradime, Vices

Outstanding hip-hop artist: Paradime

Outstanding hip-hop DJ: DJ Assault

Outstanding hip-hop MC: Paradime

Outstanding urban artist: Paul Randolph

Outstanding urban vocalist: Chris Codish (The Brothers Groove)

Outstanding urban instrumentalist: Chris Codish (The Brothers Groove)

Outstanding urban songwriter: Chris Codish (The Brothers Groove)

Outstanding funk artist: The Brothers Groove

Outstanding jazz recording: Alexander Zonjic, Reach for the Sky

Outstanding traditional jazz artist: Marcus Belgrave

Outstanding modern jazz artist: Jazzhead

Outstanding jazz vocalist: Sheila Landis

Outstanding jazz instrumentalist: Paul Keller

Outstanding jazz composer: Scott Gwinell

Outstanding world recording: Blackman & Arnold, Live

Outstanding world music artist: Blackman & Arnold

Outstanding reggae vocalist: John Pettis (Immunity)

Outstanding reggae instrumentalist: Bill Koggenhop (Immunity)

Outstanding reggae songwriter: Tom Varga (Immunity)

Outstanding reggae/ska artist: Superdot, The Articles (tie)

Outstanding electronic recording: Carl Craig, Designer Music

Outstanding electronic artist: Carl Craig

Outstanding electronic DJ: Carl Craig

Outstanding electronic producer: Carl Craig

Outstanding gospel recording: Donnie McClurkin, Live in London

Outstanding gospel artist: Donnie McClurkin

Outstanding gospel choir: Church of Today

Outstanding gospel vocalist: Donnie McClurkin

Outstanding gospel instrumentalist: Derrick Starks

Outstanding gospel songwriter: Derrick Starks

Outstanding classical recording: Dearing Concert Duo, Snapshots of South America

Outstanding community orchestra: Birmingham-Bloomfield Symphony

Outstanding classical small ensemble: Dearing Concert Duo

Outstanding classical instrumentalist: Nadine Deleury

Outstanding classical vocalist: Dana Lentini, Abha Dearing (tie)

Outstanding classical composer: Dana Newhouse

Congratulations to all the winners. Send comments to

We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Detroit Metro Times. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Detroit Metro Times, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at

Detroit Metro Times works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of Detroit and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep Detroit's true free press free.

Read the Digital Print Issue

October 21, 2020

View more issues


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Best Things to Do In Detroit