Awards of the State

We know that award shows in general are but a predictable development in the fury of award-giving seeded by the entertainment biz — a growth that now sees thousands of ceremonies worldwide commemorating the accomplishments of everything from soy protein to porn-star orifices.

Which brings us to the Detroit Music Awards. Yes, it was a party. And, yes, the crowded State Theatre boasted stellar performances last Friday by the Detroit Experiment, Calvin Cooke, and Black Bottom Collective. (Disclosure: BBC’s front man is Metro Times contributor Khary Kimani Turner).

But, from this point of view, there was a discernible lethargy — a non-specific haze — that hung in the air of the star-bereft affair; few paid attention to the actual presentation of trophies and there were plenty of no-show recipients. That probably doesn’t diminish the elation felt by the multitude of winners. And here it is, the complete list of honorees from the annual DMAs, courtesy of the Motor City Music Foundation:


National Album — Funk Brothers, Standing In The Shadows of Motown (sound track)

National Single — Eminem, “Lose Yourself”

Outstanding Acoustic Artist/Group — Sista Otis and the Wholly Rollers

Outstanding Acoustic/Folk Instrumentalist — Sista Otis, guitar

Outstanding Acoustic/Folk Recording — Sista Otis, We Ain’t Never Gonna Die

Outstanding Acoustic/Folk Songwriter — Liz Larin

Outstanding Acoustic/Folk Vocalist — Liz Larin

Outstanding Alternative/Indie Artist/Group — The Fags

Outstanding Blues Artist/Group — Thornetta Davis

Outstanding Blues/R&B Instrumentalist — Johnnie Bassett, guitar

Outstanding Blues/R&B Recording — Robert Jones, In the Tradition

Outstanding Blues/R&B Songwriter — Robert Jones

Outstanding Blues/R&B Vocalist — Thornetta Davis

Outstanding Classical Composer — James Lentini

Outstanding Classical Instrumentalist — Peter Soave

Outstanding Classical Recording — University of Michigan Symphony Band, H. Roberts Reynolds: The Retirement Concert

Outstanding Classical Small Ensemble — The Dearing Concert Duo

Outstanding Classical Vocalist — Dana Lentini

Outstanding Community Orchestra — Warren Symphony Orchestra

Outstanding Country Artist/Group — The Wrenfields

Outstanding Country Instrumentalist — Tim Duvalier, slide guitar/ guitar, The Orbitsuns

Outstanding Country Recording — The Wrenfields: Seconds

Outstanding Country Songwriter — Tracy Leigh Bechard

Outstanding Country Vocalist — Tracy Leigh Bechard

Outstanding Electronic/Dance Artist/Group — Twilight Babies

Outstanding Electronic/Dance DJ — Derrick May

Outstanding Electronic/Dance Recording — Twilight Babies, If You Want Me

Outstanding Electronic/Dance Writer/Producer — Carl Craig

Outstanding Folk Artist/Group — Tangerine Trousers

Outstanding Gospel Choir — Church of Today

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Artist/Group — Spirit of David

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Musician — Selecia Hinton, keyboards

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Recording — The Winans, The Best of the Winans

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Songwriter — Derrick Starks, Selecia Hinton (tie)

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Vocalist — Kem Owens, Gospel Truth; Michael Brock, Gospel Truth (tie)

Outstanding Hard Rock/Metal Artist/Group — Broadzilla

Outstanding Hip-Hop Artist/Group — Paradime

Outstanding Hip-Hop DJ — DJ Stezo, Buddha Fulla Rymez

Outstanding Hip-Hop MC — Hush

Outstanding Industrial Artist/Group — The Impaler

Outstanding Jazz Composer — Robert Tye

Outstanding Jazz Instrumentalist — Marcus Belgrave, trumpet

Outstanding Jazz Recording — Robert Tye, Virtues of the Well

Outstanding Jazz Vocalist — Sheila Landis

Outstanding Live Performance — Riot in Progress

Outstanding Live Sound Technician — Terry Cox

Outstanding Modern Jazz Artist/Group — Marcus Belgrave

Outstanding Pop Artist/Group — Liz Larin

Outstanding R&B Artist/Group — Bugs Beddow Band

Outstanding Record Label — Static Records

Outstanding Record Producer — Nolan Mendenhall

Outstanding Reggae/Ska Artist/Group — Immunity

Outstanding Rock Artist/Group — The Paybacks

Outstanding Rock/Pop Instrumentalist — Liz Larin, guitar/ bass

Outstanding Rock/Pop Recording — Liz Larin, The Story of O-Miz

Outstanding Rock/Pop Songwriter — Vinnie Dombroski, Sponge/Orbitsuns/Crud

Outstanding Rock/Pop Vocalist — Liz Larin

Outstanding Studio — Tempermill

Outstanding Traditional Jazz Artist/Group — Matt Michaels Trio

Outstanding Urban/Funk Artist/Group — Brothers Groove

Outstanding Urban/Funk Musician — Chris Codish, keyboards, Brothers Groove

Outstanding Urban/Funk Songwriter — Chris Codish, Brothers Groove

Outstanding Urban/Funk/Hip-Hop Recording — Black Bottom Collective, Stay Low, Keep Moving

Outstanding World Artist/Group — Blackman and Arnold

Outstanding World/Reggae/Ska Instrumentalist — Sean Blackman, Guitar, Blackman and Arnold

Outstanding World/Reggae/Ska Recording — Immigrant Suns, Supernova

Outstanding World/Reggae/Ska Songwriter — Tom Varga, Immunity

Outstanding World/Reggae/Ska Vocalist — Benny Cruz, Benny Cruz y La Buena Vida

Brian Smith is the music editor of Metro Times. E-mail [email protected]

About The Author

Scroll to read more Metro Detroit News articles
Join the Metro Times Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join Detroit Metro Times Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.