12" pop shots

Aug 4, 2004 at 12:00 am

“End of the Road” (Remixed by Kenny Dixon)

“Sandcastle” (Remixed by Mike Huckaby)
Deep Transportation 02 Limited

Hallelujah! This limited-edition picture disc featuring the remix skills of Mike Huckaby and Kenny Dixon Jr. (Moodyman) is, all told, something to behold. Though the remixes were originally released on the London-based Ferox “techno soul” comp back in 1996, neither sounds dated. Dixon’s side mixes his hallmark blend of house persistence with vibes, while Huckaby offers a minimal workout that Rich Hawtin would still be proud to call his own. There is joy in repetition.


“Love is All We Got”

Colin Zyskowski featuring Paul Randolph
“I Will Be The One” / “Soul Concern”

Vinyl guru Alvin Munk’s BelowTheSurface label rolls out its third 12”, this time featuring vet jazzy-electro artist John Briggs (Zoetic) and young dance-savant Colin Zyskowski. Both sides are heartfelt. Briggs’ is full of polyrhythmed depth — live instrumentation peppered with sweet vocals — while the flip is absolutely ridiculous: Paul Randolph (“This Means That”) blends his lyrics into two broken, dub-house platters. Humbling.


DJ Minx
Walk in the Park EP

Richie Hawtin’s Minus label finally, truly, diversifies with this “minimize to maximize” track from Ms. WomenOnWax herself. Organic-sounding drums and subtle bass lines slowly build on Minx’s original and remix while Minus label stalwarts Magda and Matthew Dear turn bouncier/crunchier versions on the flip. So when’s Minx moving to Berlin?

Carleton S. Gholz writes about music for Metro Times. E-mail him at [email protected]