Thursday, June 26, 2014

2014 Kresge Artist Fellows announced

Posted By on Thu, Jun 26, 2014 at 8:28 AM

Kresge Arts in Detroit have announced the recipients of its 2014 Kresge Artist Fellowships. The fellows, working in dance and music as well as a new theater and film category, receive a prize of $25,000 each — to do whatever they want to realize their creative vision.

The recipients are 17 artists and one collective, all working within metro Detroit.

Musicians include:

Juan Atkins, electronic musician

Ben Hall, sound and interdisciplinary artist

Jeedo, aka Waajeed, composer, producer and arranger

Kisma Jordan, classical vocalist

Gayelynn McKinney, composer, drummer and bandleader

Stephen Nawara, composer, guitarist, bassist and vocalist

New Music Detroit, new music collective

Tracy Halloran Pearson, choreographer

Britney Stoney, singer/songwriter

Theater/film recipients include:

Diane Cheklich, screenwriter and film director

Tony D’Annunzio, documentary film director

Donavan Glover, music video and film director

dream hampton, director and writer

Leon Johnson, film/theatre director and interdisciplinary artist

Daniel Land, screenwriter and film director

Rola Nashef, screenwriter and film director

Jasmine Rivera, screenwriter and film director

Sherina Rodriguez Sharpe, playwright

More than 400 applications were reviewed by two independent panels.

Music panelists include:

Carl Craig, Grammy Award-nominated composer, producer, electronic musician and artistic director of Movement Electronic Music Festival

Kristy Edmunds, choreographer, executive and artistic director of the Center for the Art of Performance at UCLA, founder of Portland Institute for Contemporary Art

Johnny Evans, composer, musician and bandleader

George E. Lewis, composer, performer, professor and vice-chair of the department of music at Columbia University

Karen Sherman, choreographer, performer and scenic designer

Theater/film panelists include:

Kenneth Cosby, screenwriter, playwright, director, actor and artist in residence at Towne Street Theatre in Los Angeles

Sue Marx, Academy Award-winning director and producer

Shaun Nethercott, executive director and co-founder of Matrix Theatre Company

Brian Rogers, director, video artist, co-founder and artistic director of The Chocolate Factory Theater in New York

Shay Wafer, theatre director and executive director of New York-based 651 ARTS

For more information about the Fellowship, check out


We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Detroit Metro Times. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Detroit Metro Times, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at

Support Local Journalism.
Join the Detroit Metro Times Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the Metro Times Press Club for as little as $5 a month.

Read the Digital Print Issue

December 1, 2021

View more issues


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Best Things to Do In Detroit

© 2021 Detroit Metro Times - Contact Us

Website powered by Foundation