New Mayer Hawthorne Double LP Available Now

As of yesterday, some of Ann Arbor's funkiest former residents, Mayer Hawthorne and his band, the County, released a double vinyl LP that they recorded live last month in Los Angeles. What makes the double LP special is that it was recorded straight to vinyl with no intermediary mixing or studio tinkering before all of the music went on wax.

Hawthorne's label, Stones Throw Records, is celebrating their 15th anniversary by doing a series of "direct to disc" live shows in which artists perform at the Capsule Lab Studio/pressing plant in L.A. and then everything that is recorded goes straight on vinyl. It's the first I've heard of something like that happening and it makes me envious of what a concert at Archer Record Pressing in Detroit would sound like. Head over to Stones Throw's site if you want to purchase the vinyl. Hopefully it'll be at record stores around town fairly soon. The record will not be released in CD or digital format.

Full Tracklist:

A1. Make Her Mine

A2. Maybe So Maybe No

A3. Gangsta Luv

A4. I Need You

A5. I Wish It Would Rain

B1. No Strings

B2. Green Eyed Love

B3. Just Ain't Gonna Work Out

C1. The Ills

C2. Time Will Reveal

Side D is blank.

Mayer Hawthorne - Maybe So/Gangsta Luv (Live at Direct to Disc #1) by stonesthrow

Scroll to read more Music News articles


Join Detroit Metro Times Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.