Friday, October 28, 2016

Jim Jarmusch's Stooges doc is awesome, go see it now

Posted By on Fri, Oct 28, 2016 at 3:08 PM

click to enlarge ANN ARBOR'S FINEST! IGGY POP, SCOTT ASHETON, RON ASHETON, AND DAVE ALEXANDER IN GIMME DANGER, A MAGNOLIA PICTURES RELEASE. PHOTO COURTESY OF AMAZON STUDIOS / MAGNOLIA PICTURES. PHOTO © FRANK PETTIS
  • Ann Arbor's finest! Iggy Pop, Scott Asheton, Ron Asheton, and Dave Alexander in GIMME DANGER, a Magnolia Pictures release. Photo courtesy of Amazon Studios / Magnolia Pictures. Photo © Frank Pettis
The Detroit Institute of Arts’ lovely Detroit Film Theatre begins screening the deservedly celebrated Gimme Danger, a new documentary about the Stooges, this evening, Friday, Oct. 28.

Here are all the screening times for the thing over the course of the next two weeks. You have no excuse for missing it. Get your tickets right here.

Friday, October 28, 2016: 7:00 PM
Friday, October 28, 2016: 9:30 PM
Saturday, October 29, 2016: 7:00 PM
Saturday, October 29, 2016: 9:30 PM
Sunday, October 30, 2016: 2:00 PM
Sunday, October 30, 2016: 4:30 PM
Sunday, October 30, 2016: 7:00 PM
Wednesday, November 02, 2016: 7:30 PM
Thursday, November 03, 2016: 7:30 PM
Friday, November 04, 2016: 9:30 PM
Saturday, November 05, 2016: 9:30 PM
Saturday, November 05, 2016: 1:00 PM
Sunday, November 06, 2016: 7:00 PM
Sunday, November 06, 2016: 4:30 PM

Fun House is the single greatest album of the rock 'n' roll era, and Jarmusch one of our greatest living directors. We lucky ducks here at the Metro Times music editorial team were able to see an advance screening of the film yesterday. It is funny, heart-warming, accurate, and excellent — one of the best music docs in recent memory.



More by Mike McGonigal

Best Things to Do In Detroit

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

© 2016 Detroit Metro Times

Website powered by Foundation